The Google-Reddit Hack

Adrian J. Mayer
2 min readSep 27, 2022
Photo by Nathana Rebouças on Unsplash

Poor Internet Search Results

I realized that when I used Google for internet searches, I often got results that did not satisfy my query but instead showed up on “junk sites” that managed to get high rankings in the search engine algorithm. I am aware of placing my query within quotation marks, but I still encountered trash results.

The Google-Reddit Hack

My work colleague suggested that he uses reddit.com to find answers to his inquiries. I tried the site and found that the query was insufficient for me when explored alone. Then, I had my “eureka” thought. I asked myself what would happen if I used a basic Google search and added Reddit at the end? Reddit combines web content, news, a forum, and social content into one site, then lets registered users vote on the best answers. Reddit’s model of combining web content, news, a forum, and social content into one site while also letting its registered users vote on the best answers is one of the many reasons it has answers to millions of questions. Google and Reddit are far more powerful when they are combined. There is a synergistic effect of using both together. Now when I search for something, I use Google, but I always include Reddit at the end of my search.

Satisfaction with a Search Well Done

The Google-Reddit hack has brought the internet search back to how it was for me, and often even better. This simple technique has saved me time and has enabled me to get more information.

--

--

Adrian J. Mayer

I hold 5 college degrees including a BBA in Finance, MBA, DBA, and post-doc in Applied Statistics. I work for a non-profit in Orlando, FL as a business analyst.